Well, hello there

Thanks for stopping by. Welcome to Cycling with heels, my new blog. In case you’ve stumbled by and you’re wondering what it’s all about, I’ve put together a little Q&A for you.

Why’s it called Cycling with heels? Isn’t that a little dangerous?

Well, no, not really. It’s cycling with heels, not cycling in heels. Not that I’m saying I don’t cycle in heels, just not very often…in fact not at all since I saw a fellow cyclist watch helplessly as her very lovely, high heeled slip-on shoe – which had slipped off in the middle of Kingsland High Street – got run over before she had chance to retrieve it. I value my shoes too much to risk that happening to them.

But anyway, getting back to the point. Why Cycling with heels?

I wanted a name that got across the idea that yes, this blog is about cycling…but it’s also about life. Specifically the places where the two collide. It’s my take on cycling in London, as a 30-something woman.

So while I may touch on some of the big issues in cycling – such as safety – I reserve the right to also write about helmet hair and whether it’s acceptable to turn up on a first date on my bike.

All, I hope, with wit, intelligence and eloquence.

Hold on a minute. I thought you said this is a new blog? Where did all these other posts come from?

OK, I kind of cheated. I used to have another blog – Tea and Cake – in which I wrote about all manner of topics, including cycling. As no-one’s more afraid of a blank screen than I am, I copied over all the cycling related posts to this one.

Not only does this give me the feeling of having done something when, actually, I haven’t this also gives you – dear reader – more to read. Think of it as a little taster to whet your appetite.

There are loads of blogs about cycling in London. Why should I read yours?

Good question. Because it’s mine?*

While I can’t promise that my blog will be better written, better informed or even more interesting than everyone else’s, I can promise it will be the only one written from my perspective. And I’d like to think that’s worth reading.

I’m also reasonably certain that it’s the only blog written by someone who cycles from Stoke Newington to Cricklewood and back again for work every day (although if there is someone else out there with the same commute, I’d love to hear from you).

Anyway, have a read. If you like what you see, let me know. Or – even better – tell your friends about it.

*If you’re wondering who I am, check out my ‘About’ page.

Leave a Reply

