How much did you say you paid?

Image

I’ve just told my flatmate how much my bike service cost me this week. She is incredulous.

“£300? That’s insane! You do realise you could have bought a new bike for less than that. In fact, why didn’t you?”

Why didn’t I, indeed?

I probably do around 5,000 miles on my bike every year, which puts a lot of strain on it. I confess that I don’t give it the attention it really needs. The upshot of this is that when I finally admit it really, really needs to be fixed – about once a year – it usually entails having almost every movable part of it replaced.

Even the mechanic suggested I might want to think about getting a new bike. For a mere £400 – not that much more than the service would cost – I could have a brand new, shiny, nothing-wrong-with-it-whatsoever bike.

It was seriously tempting.

But I couldn’t do it. Although the lack of care I show it might suggest otherwise, I love my bike. We go back years. It’s carried me faithfully round the streets of London and beyond since early 2007. I couldn’t just abandon my trusty steed just because it was getting a little expensive to maintain.

I could, of course, do the work myself. Without having to pay for labour, and with the benefit of shopping around on the internet to get the best price, I could save a fortune.

I did seriously consider it. I even went as far as reading up about how to replace the parts that I knew definitely needed to be replaced. I learned that the thing the chain goes round at the front is actually called a chain ring. I even found out what size I needed (4 bolt – 104mm – 32T – 9 speed, apparently). I discovered that Hackney Bike Workshop run free sessions on bike maintenance – they’d provide the tools and the instruction, as long as I provided the parts.

I was going to do it. I really was.

And then I thought, who am I kidding? After ten years of cycling, I’ve only just mastered fixing a puncture and replacing my brake pads. It’s a massive jump from basic maintenance to the bike equivalent of open-heart surgery. It’s not something I’m going to accomplish overnight – and probably not before my bike falls apart completely, either.

And so I paid someone else a rather extortionate sum of money to do it for me.

But, as I explained to my flatmate, it was still cheaper than buying a new bike. In fact, given the amount of stuff that’s been replaced on it, it pretty much is a new bike.

She didn’t look convinced. And as I said this, I vowed that this time I really will look after it. I will learn how to fix things. Because I really don’t want – a year from now – to be having this conversation all over again.

(As it turned out, I would never have managed to do the work myself. When I picked the bike up, the mechanic told me it took three of them to get the pedals off. They were gunged up with dried up gunk – the result of years of neglect…)

7 thoughts on “How much did you say you paid?

  1. Be brave and have a go at replacing something next time around. YouTube videos are fab, and it really isn’t as hard as it looks. I replaced the chain on my old bike and was thoroughly satisfied with myself for managing without help. When my new bike needed a new chain I was feeling lazy so took it to a bike shop – only to be fleeced by them insisting that the cassette on the rear wheel must be replaced at the same time. I was sure they were wrong, but they weren’t accepting it and I forked out 😦 I’ll be doing as much of my own work as possible from now on!

    • I think I will give it a go. I’d like to. I can do fairly simple things, like fix a puncture and replace brake pads but anything more complicated kind of scares me. One of the reasons why I don’t have a go at fixing more things is that I don’t have the right tools. A friend’s new flatmate is into bikes, and has all the tools, so I’ve persuaded him he really wants to help me out the next time something needs fixing on my bike.

Leave a Reply

